A Wild Blogger Appears! 2013 Goals Update! Also New Theme!

2013 Writing Goals Update

Back in January, I did a list of writing goals for the upcoming year. And I gotta say, I haven’t done too horribly. I’ve always been the type of person to set inhumanly lofty goals for myself (insert shooting for moon, landing among not stars because stars are not closer than the moon thank you science clichéd phrasing here) and this was no exception. So, despite not meeting all of my goals, I think I’m doing well so far. Let’s do a quick analysis, shall we?

True Love Waits – Horror/Thriller detective mystery thing about the cray cray preacher’s wife. Novel.

Goal – 1st draft by end of Feb
Actual – 10k of 1st draft by end of Feb, then quit because I didn’t like where it was going. Now re-working those 10k into a short story version, which makes a lot more sense IMO.

Fish Out of Water – Little Mermaid modern retelling with merman and human girl. Short.

Goal – 1st draft March 31st
Actual – 1st draft Feb 20th

Haven’t worked on this since sometime in Feb, but it still has potential.

I’m Not a Zombie, I Just Play One on TV – Zombie Comedy about a stunt woman turned apocalyptic heroine. Novel. My NaNo from last Nov.

Goal – 1st draft April 30
Revise – by July 1st
Actual – 1st draft/revision ~ May 20

Started revising this sometime in May, and still like it, but it will most likely need to be re-written. I just didn’t know what I was doing yet when I wrote this, guys. That’s the nature of early novels, I’m finding out.

Passages – This is what I’m working on right now. It has grown and developed over about 2 years of mulling around in my brain from a YA story about time travel, to a space travel story, and has finally congealed into a story about a lady trucker/bounty hunter working around the inner solar system who gets caught up in some mystical stuff way outta her league.

This book is awesome, you guys. Not just tooting my own horn here; this is the first thing I’ve written that I genuinely feel might be publishable. It’s rife with Star Trek references, funny without being cheeseball, and it’s good. I feel really good about it.

Two Plus Two – 1984 continuation YA

I had planned on doing this for NaNo 2013, but I already started it back in June. I really love where it’s going, but it’s on the back burner right now while I write the space bounty hunters thing.

So all in all, I think I’m doing pretty good on my goals so far.

Which is a very long-winded way of saying, I suck at blogging because I been writin’ real shit, yo.

Lol, jk jk. I will really try to be better about keeping up with this blog, you guys. But then I always say that.

PS: Do we like the new theme? BECAUSE YELLOW

Leave a Reply

