Thankfulness.

This year, I am thankful for:

  • My beautiful, funny, and wonderful girlfriend. ❤
  • My incredible local writers group. Don’t know where I would be without you ladies.
  • A job in a field that I am both passionate and excited about on a daily basis.
  • The support and love of my friends and family.
  • Health. Joy. Happiness.

guh gag me this is the mushiest post everrrrr

No but for serious. I have a lot to be thankful for this year, the delicious feast to come notwithstanding. I wish all of my fellow Americans (I’m the president?) a Happy Thanksgiving tomorrow. To all of my fellow Terrans from other Earth nations… try not to judge us too much as we dive head first into a pile of whatever the hot new item is going to be on Friday. Some of us have the good sense to stay home. Some of us worked in retail for enough years to never ever ever want to go shopping on Black Friday EVER AGAIN. As to the others… Let’s just do our best to roll our eyes to ourselves and move on, I suppose. Because while they fight over the last Tickle Me Elmo (eep that has a new ring to it in light of recent events, yes?) or what have you, I’ll be shopping in my pjs on Monday. Hooray for the Internet!

Also, if you feel so inclined, click here to support Wal-Mart employees as they strike in protest of low wages and lack of benefits. It is absolutely ridiculous to me that people are having to be at work for Black Friday sales at EIGHT. PM. ON THANKSGIVING DAY. INSANITY. Retail employees do not even get their Thanksgiving any more (granted, many retail stores are open on Thanksgiving anyway, but now it’s a big crazy sale day rather than a last minute… “oh no I forgot to buy cranberry sauce” kind of day.) Starting doorbusters at midnight last year was crazy enough, now it’s 8pm? When people should be sitting down to Thanksgiving dinner? It is beyond disgusting to me that a holiday that is supposed to represent thankfulness and gratitude has now been turned into a day for mindless spending and buying of as much crap as you can literally cram into your shopping cart and/or rip from the hands of other customers. Employees and customers alike are literally trampled to death every year during this craziness. That is just… wrong. Ugh. On so many levels. No one should have to run that kind of risk for their job, especially not for a shitty minimum wage that is so low you can’t even afford your own health insurance.

Okay, end rant. I don’t normally get very political or ranty on this blog, but this is something I feel very strongly about as a former retail worker of many years. Anyway, go support Wal-Mart employees on Friday in their protests if you can, or at the very least share the banners and tweet in support of them in their struggle!

MWAH! ❤

Leave a Reply

