An excerpt from my current project…

As some of you may know, I already started my NaNo novel a little early. I’m currently just over 7000 words into it, and I’m having a blast. It’s silly, it’s fun, and it’s about zombies. Yay!

Anyway, I wanted to make a quick post to share a little scrap of my first draft with you all. I will only leave this up on this blog for the next week, after which it will promptly disappear as if by magic. *waggles fingers*

Some writers caution against sharing first drafts with ANYONE; they say it’s best to keep it all locked away until it’s DONE, but I’m not that type. I have to share; sharing with friends is what inspires me to keep going. I welcome any and all feedback, but please no serious criticism at this point. It’s a first draft; it’s kind of a mess. It will all be HEAVILY edited once it’s done. Anyway, without further adieu and disclaimer, here it is:

[REDACTED on 11.1.2012 –  Thanks so much to those who stopped by to read and leave comments!]

So that’s it! Let me know what you think!

Also! As a quick aside, you know what I’m really bad at? Description! I will leave a reader wondering what someone looks like for 50 pages if I don’t stop to remind myself, “HEY. NO ONE KNOWS WHAT THAT GIRL LOOKS LIKE. YOU SHOULD PROBABLY TELL THEM.” LOL. I’m much better at dialogue than description. How about you, fellow writers? Is there any part of the writing process that you have to come back and add in a later revision because it’s just not in your brain for that first draft?

❤ Laura

7 thoughts on “An excerpt from my current project…

  1. My quick two cents:

    1. Your dialogue really drives your story. I found the dialogue refreshing and unforced.

    2. Kudos for dropping that tidbit about “dork.”

    3. I liked your use of the word “exuberantly” to describe the zombie biting Greg. Are your zombies capable of emotion?

    (BTW, have you read “Warm Bodies?”)

  2. Oh, great. Another (unfinished) book I now HAVE to read. 😉 If you’re looking for betas in December, please keep me in mind. This was engaging, and has me wanting more! A very good first draft. Your dialogue reads real, and your scene-setting was pretty clear.

    • Oh wow. Thank you so much, Tammy! That comment seriously just made me grin from ear to ear. I will definitely keep you in mind come December!

      Thanks again!
      Laura ❤

Leave a Reply

